- The site contains content in the classic site builder feature.
- The site does not have any existing content in the Site Builder.
- Import Overview
- Previewing and Publishing Content
- Disabling the Legacy Site Builder
- Reverting the Import Process
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Site Builder for Terra Dotta Study Abroad: This article contains all available learning resources for the Site Builder, including video instruction.
- The Site Builder's Content Editor Guide
Terra Dotta will automatically import all classic public page content into the Site Builder for client sites that do not yet have content saved in the Site Settings section of the Admin Console's Site Builder. This means that if an admin already started using the Site Wizard, the Site Builder, or disabled the legacy site builder at the time of Terra Dotta's automatic import process, then the classic content for that site would not be imported into the Site Builder.
After the import has been confirmed, an admin can navigate to Admin Console > Site Builder and get stared previewing, editing, and publishing their site content. These actions should be done prior to disabling the legacy site builder setting.
By default, you will land on the "Site Settings" tab within the Site Builder. After the legacy site builder site setting is disabled, then the Site Builder's public site pages will be accessible to visitors.
- If you want to use the imported content in the Site Builder, then you do not need to use the Site Wizard. You should ignore the "Resume Site Wizard" link that appears at the top of the Site Settings tab.
- There may be times when your content does not display as expected after the import into the Site Builder. This is likely to occur if your site has been heavily modified or uses CSS. If you have questions after attempting to make updates, open a Support case so that our team can assist.
- If you are editing pages and your site uses CSS, then note that what you see in the editor may be different from what appears in the preview. This is because CSS is not loaded into the editor. You may need to spend more time adjusting content within the editor to ensure it appears as desired in the preview.
Previewing and Publishing Content
It is recommended that an admin preview all imported content before publishing that content. A suggested checklist of content to preview is as follows:
- Site Settings
Navigate to the "Pages" tab to view a main listing of all of your site's imported pages, which will include pages for "Home" and "Programs". None of the pages listed will be published yet. A page can only be previewed if it is unpublished - or if it has been published and subsequent edits have been made and saved.
Begin by previewing the "Home" page by clicking on the "Get Preview Link" icon, an action which copies the link to your clipboard, and pasting the link into a private browsing window. The "Home" page is the most important page as a site must have a public home page in order to function as expected. For this reason, a site's home page cannot be deleted. Edits can be made and saved. When you are satisfied with your page, you will need to publish it from the main "Pages" listing by clicking on the "Publish" icon.
Next, preview your "Programs" page, keeping in mind that the Site Builder uses Program Discovery as its sole program search tool. When previewing the "Programs" page, admins will be able to access program brochures which should also be previewed. Note that when the Site Builder is used, program brochures lose their gutters.
Finally, staff pages should be previewed. After they are published, then staff can take advantage of using the Appointment System for Terra Dotta Study Abroad.
After the import, you will want to review your main parent menus as well as any sub-menus, also referred to as "nested" menus. The "Menus" tab can be located upon entering the Site Builder:
The Site Builder only supports one level of nested menus for each parent menu. The "Home" menu does not support any nested menus.
No publish action exists for menus in the Site Builder. A menu is created, saved, and then available for use on your public site home page if the legacy site builder has been disabled.
3. Site Settings
Preview, modify, and save all updates to your site's main configurations for the header, footer, background images, etc.
Disabling the Legacy Site Builder
After you have previewed and published all pages and are satisfied with your public content in the Site Builder, the next step to making this content accessible for public use will be to disable the legacy, or "classic", site builder. After this step has been made, all public page content that has been published in the Site Builder will be accessible by visitors.
To disable the legacy site builder, click on the link provided in the Site Builder's Site Settings tab. This will navigate you to Settings > System Features > Interface Settings where a toggle button can be found. After disabling the setting, click "Update" to preserve your changes.
If an admin decides that they want to undo the import process from the legacy site builder, then a request must be made via a case to Terra Dotta Support before the legacy site builder is disabled. It is not possible for an admin to revert the import process on their own. Only Terra Dotta Support has the ability to take this action.
The revert process will remove all imported content from the Site Builder along with any updates that the office has made within the Site Builder. After the revert process has occurred, an admin will see a "Welcome to the Site Builder" modal upon returning to the Admin Console > Site Builder page from which they can choose to import classic public page content again or not and instead get started using the Site Wizard.
If the legacy site builder has already been disabled, then the revert import process will no longer be an option.
1. My footer's content has not imported as I would have expected. Why is this happening?
This might occur if you are using custom CSS that is not part of the actual CSS file. The custom CSS was likely embedded into the footer file. You will need to identify the CSS in the footer file, remove it, and then add it inside of the theme section of the Site Builder.